The provincial Nominee Program has seen 10 of the 13 Canadian provinces arrive into an agreement with the Canadian government to offer more immigration opportunities. The Provincial Nomination Program is an extremely successful program. This program allows each separate province to nominate applicants, based on the provinces’ unique skill needs.

So, if a particular province is experiencing a lack of skilled health care workers, they could give precedence to those applicants who have the necessary qualifications.  The programs objective is to make it easier for immigrants to assimilate smoothly into Canadian life, while ensuring that they successfully contribute to the specific communities.

Qualifying criteria

Most provinces and territories in Canada can nominate immigrants through. The Provincial Nominee Program. In order for them to be nominated they must have the skills, education and work experience to provide to the economy of that province or territory and must express an interest in living in that particular area.

In most cases, one must apply directly to a province or territory to be considered under The provincial Nominee Program.

Since January 1st 2015, the different provinces that have launched new Express Entry streams, include:


  • Alberta
  • British Columbia
  • Manitoba
  • Saskatchewan
  • Ontario
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Newfoundland
  • Northwest Territories
  • Yukon
  • New Brunswick
  • Nova Scotia


Quebec Skilled Worker Program

The province of Quebec, where Montreal is located does not participate in the Provincial Nomination Program. The Government of Quebec and the Canadian Government have entered into a series of agreements. Quebec has established its own selection criteria for all economic immigrants who specify their intention to reside in that province

Do you want to come to Canada? At ( ), we make applying for your visa simple. Fill out the form above and one of our account managers will call you to begin your Canadian visa application process.